How did you get your start?

spc_daicon

Reaction score
Gold
Pronouns
He/Him
Hey y'all.

I see that many people post their art here (and they are all incredible) and it got me wondering: how did you guys got your start? What made you pursue such interest? Did you had formal education or is self tought?

I always liked art and dabbled a little with Photoshop back in highschool but never invested much in it but I thinking in start again.

no formal art education, all self-taught, just started a few months before the pandemic out of boredom
though for my 3d stuff I started thanks to the "I've joined a project I can't refuse and now I'm fucked" deadline fighter situation I got myself in in mid-2022
maybe the biggest reasons I kept going were because 1. this was the first non-academic/sport thing that I think I was good at and enjoyed greatly, and 2. I've always wanted to recreate cool cg animated music videos related to rhythm game content

To be honest, I don't really remember when I downloaded blender and what for. I remember I got paint.net to make custom skins for assets on Roblox to use in Roleplay games like After The Flash in 2020 lol, that's probably when I got started with Graphic Design. When I discovered Nuphory (back then she was Volant) in 2021 my mind was blown cause I really liked that crisp electronic sound of hers, and then I got introduced to the wider design scene on twitter via her, and started making stuff then... I liked doing it because it was so much easier to do than music, although I still want to make music...